12781 Velp Avenue, Suamico, WI

Monday-Friday 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Summer Hours:
Monday-Thursday 7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Friday 7 a.m. to 11 a.m.

Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission shall consist of seven members.  Of the membership, if available in the community, one shall be a registered architect; one shall be a historian; one shall be a licensed real estate broker; one shall be a Board member, and three shall be citizen members.  Each member shall have, to the highest extent practicable, a known interest in historic preservation.  The Commission shall:

  1. Protect, enhance, and preserve history;
  2. Safeguard heritage;
  3. Foster civic pride;
  4. Protest attractions;
  5. Stabilize property values;
  6. Improve character;
  7. Educate the public;
  8. Be advisory to the Village Board;
  9. Utilize the perpetuation and use of improvements or sites of special character or special architectural, archaeological, or historic interest or value as a public necessity and as required in the interest of the health, prosperity, safety, and welfare of the people;
  10. Preserve historic structures, sites, and districts that exemplify history, identify with historic personages or events, embody distinguishing architectural characteristics, are representative of notable work, or yield important information;
  11. Develop public support;
  12. Locate and identify historic sites, structures, and districts; and
  13. Regulate construction, reconstruction, alteration, and demolition of historic structures, sites, and districts.

The President shall appoint the Commissioners subject to confirmation by the Board.  Of the initial members so appointed, two shall serve a term of one year, two shall serve a term of two years, and three shall serve a term of three years.  Thereafter, the term for each member shall be three years.  The Historic Preservation Commission meets the 1st Tuesday of the month on a quarterly basis at 6 p.m. at the Municipal Services Center, 12781 Velp Avenue.

Members include Barb Styczynski - Chair, Geri Corbeille, Michelle Eckert - Trustee, Heather Nelson, Chris Charles,  Henry Vanden Heuvel, and Chris Raymaker.

Agendas & Minutes

Subscribe To The Newsletter

Registration for programs and events can be made online, sent through the mail, or brought into our Municipal Services Center